## **Motion for Jim Payne Memorial Service Award**

as approved by BECC board of directors, October 5, 2005

WHEREAS, Jim Payne was perhaps the most influential and respected member of the Boeing Employees Coin Club, and

WHEREAS, Jim Payne generously served the club and its members in numerous capacities over a time period of approximately 35 years, and

WHEREAS, Jim Payne was well known for his integrity as well as his service, and

WHEREAS, Jim Payne was a recipient of the Pacific Northwest Numismatic Association's Bob Everett Memorial Award for integrity and service to the numismatic community,

BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that the Boeing Employees Coin Club establish the Jim Payne Memorial Service Award as follows:

- The name of the award shall be the "Jim Payne Memorial Service Award."
- The award shall be presented annually at the annual banquet, except that the first award will be made in December of 2005 to allow time for selection.
- Award recipients shall be BECC members in good standing, and shall be selected
  for integrity and service to the club by a three-person committee appointed by the
  president. The BECC board shall retain the right of final approval of committee
  members and award recipients.
- Any BECC member may nominate another member in writing, with rationale, to
  receive the award. The selection committee will give due consideration to all such
  nominations, but is not constrained to select someone nominated in advance. An
  annual call for nominations will be made in the club newsletter and at a general
  club meeting two months prior to close of nominations. (One month in 2005.)
- It is suggested that recipients of the award be appointed to the selection committee for three years following their award.
- No member of the award selection committee shall be eligible to receive the award until the year after their service on the committee ends.
- Award recipients shall have their name and year of award engraved on a plaque owned and maintained by the club, and shall also receive a numismatic award of nominal value (\$50 suggested).
- The award shall be given for a minimum of 25 years, after which the board can
  decide whether the award should continue to be named in honor of Jim Payne or
  some other individual, or discontinued.

Note: The 2005 award selection committee, appointed by Jim Bell, is as follows: David Buehler, Terry Kamm, Michael Pepka.