BECC Banner

Boeing Employees Coin Club

Home Awards Coin Show Displays Information
Meetings Medals Memberships News YN's
Within the Boeing intranet: Puget Sound Recreation Home Page.

Jim Payne Memorial Service Award

In Memoriam: Jim Payne, 1926-2005 We are saddened to report that a good friend passed away on September 22, 2005. Jim Payne was perhaps the most influential and respected member of the Boeing Employees Coin Club (BECC). He served the club in many capacities over approximately a 35-year time period. In recent years he was best known as the largest dealer in BECC medals, although he also supplied many other numismatic items to the club and its members. Jim was also the recipient of the Pacific Northwest Numismatic Association's Bob Everett Memorial Award. Jim will be greatly missed, and his shoes will be hard to fill, as they say. The club has established its own memorial award in his honor (the first winner, Del Cushing, was announced in December 2005).


See the motion approved by the BECC Executive Board to establish the Jim Payne Memorial Service Award.
(This motion also includes the complete award criteria, summarized below.)

Nominations for the Jim Payne Memorial Service Award are accepted annually. Please take a few moments and reflect on who is a deserving BECC member for this prestigious award, nominate that person by writing down why the person deserves this year's award, and send it to one of the past three recipients as directed below.

The award shall be presented annually at the banquet in October.

  • Award recipients shall be BECC members in good standing, and shall be selected for integrity and service to the club by a three-person committee.
  • The three-person selection committee consists of the three previous recipients of the award.
  • Any BECC member may nominate another member in writing, with rationale, to receive the award.
  • An annual call for nominations will be made in the club newsletter and at a general club meeting two months prior to close of nominations.
  • No member of the award selection committee shall be eligible to receive the award until the year after their service on the committee ends.

Each fall, the past three Jim Payne Memorial Award recipients get together and review the people you nominate for our most prestigious award. Your nominee must be submitted by the first week in October to give the committee time to review and select the candidate for the award. Your candidate should be a member in good standing of our club, and your written submittal should explain why you think your candidate deserves the award. Please submit your written proposal and give it to the selection committee.


Award winners:

The award winner is announced annually at the club's October banquet.
Del Cushing was selected as the winner of the first Jim Payne Memorial Service Award. Del was a good friend of Jim, and worked closely with Jim on club projects for many years. Del was also very helpful to the Payne family after Jim's death.BECC medals chairman Jim Bell was announced as the second annual award winner. Congratulations, Jim, and thanks for your many hours of hard work on the medals program!
BECC president Greg Smith was announced as the third annual award winner. Congratulations, Greg, and thanks for your many hours of hard work with the club the past two years!Michael Pepka was awarded the Jim Payne Memorial Service Award for all his extraordinary help as Coin Show Bourse Chairman, Banquet Coordinator, Past President and all around great guy. Congratulations, Mike!! (See the 2006 photo above, when Michael Pepka as club president presented the award to Jim Bell; also the 2009 photo below.)
In Memoriam We are saddened to report that Michael Pepka, longtime BECC Coin Show Chairperson, passed away on October 8, 2010.
David Buehler (left) receives the Jim Payne Memorial Service Award from 2008 recipient Michael Pepka (right). Dave is the club's employee representative and has assisted the club in many capacities the past few years.Terry Kamm (right) receives the Jim Payne Memorial Service Award from 2009 recipient David Buehler (left). Terry has served as past President, Vice President, Secretary, Membership Clerk, Newspaper Editor and helped with many volunteer activities.
John Enges (left) receives the Jim Payne Memorial Award from Terry Kamm (right). John has served the club in an number of capacities including preparation of banquet food!Bruce Coggins (left) receives the Jim Payne Memorial Award from John Enges (right). Bruce "unflaggingly supports club activities in any way he can and he volunteers to help with set up and tear down of each meeting, of the banquet, and of the coin show. For years Bruce has served the club as the auction chair."
Jesse Torres (left) receives the Jim Payne Memorial Award from Bruce Coggins (right). Jesse has served the club in several capacities including currently as club secretary.Tony Kalt (center) receives the Jim Payne Memorial Award from Jesse Torres (left) and John Enges (right) with Bruce Coggins (behind). Tony is club V.P. and Medals Co-Chair, and has directed YN activities at recent annual club coin shows.
Benjamin M. (left) receives the Jim Payne Memorial Award from Tony Kalt (right). Ben is the first Young Numismatist (YN) to receive the award!Rosanne Buehler (left), wife of Coin Show Co-Chair and Medals Co-Chair David Buehler, receives the Jim Payne Memorial Award from Ben M. (right). Both Buehlers are extremely active in the club, and David had previously received the award in 2009.
Club president Tom Koch (left) receives the Jim Payne Memorial Service Award at the club's annual banquet in Tukwila, from 2016 recipient Rosanne Buehler (right).